Miss Morgan.

So I’ve began my Student Teaching at my second placement. Which I love. It is in an impoverished area.  These kids are going through hell.  If they have one parent at home for part of the time that they’re not in school, they can consider themselves privileged.  These kids already fight their way through life.  I love them.  I told myself I wouldn’t go into teaching right after college, but if this school offered me a 1st grade class…I would take it in a heartbeat.  Lupe Fiasco’s song makes me want to fight harder for these kids.

One in the air for the people ain’t here
Two in the air for the father that’s there
Three in the air for the kids in the ghetto
Four for the kids that don’t wanna be there
None for the bastards tryna hold them back
Five in the air for the teachers not scared
To tell those kids that’s livin’ in the ghetto
That those holdin’ back that the world is theirs
Yeah, yeah, the world is yours, I was once that little boy
Terrified of the world, now I’m on a world tour
I will give up everything, even start a world war
For these ghetto girls and boys I’m rappin’ ’round the world for
Africa to New York, Haiti, then I detour
Oakland out to Auckland, Gaza Strip to Detroit
Say hip-hop only destroy, tell ’em look at me, boy
I hope your son don’t have a gun and never be a D-boy

Leave a Reply

