A Dream of Hope.

Last night, as I was snoozing away I had a dream.  A dream about my little sister Miss Getty.  Getty has SMA type 1 (Spinal Muscular Atrophy), a disease with no cure, one that often takes the life of the child before they reach the age of 2.  But the research that is going on in the Spinal arena is very close to finding a cure for SMA.  I am still learning more about all these things, but the point is, they are close.
So last night in my dream Miss Getty was about 3 years old.  She was as darling as she has been this entire time just a little older and a little taller.  Right now Getty lies on her side to help her breathe better, so I was holding Getty that way.  And I was talking to her and loving her.  It’s always magical with Getty.  I set her on the couch to go fetch something from the other room and when I returned Getty was sitting up.  Puzzled, I looked at her and said, “Getty girl, we need to get you back on your side little one”.  She hopped off the couch.  I swooped down to pick her up to check on her, to make sure she was breathing.  She was.  I set her down and she hopped off the couch again and took a step towards me.  I kneeled down to her level and took her little hands and shook them a bit.  I was testing her muscle ability.  She just looked at me and smiled.  I could not believe my eyes.  Getty was all better.
I cannot believe how much love I have for Getty.  My heart swells when I think about her.  I am so proud to know such a life changing little girl.  I know that “So and so makes me a better person” is somewhat of a cliche, but only until you experience it.  Getty is a blessing to my life, one I thank God for everyday.  Looking forward to capturing her little face tomorrow 🙂

Getty Owl December 2010

Leave a Reply

